Tuesday Thingers

I’ve missed the last few Tuesday Thinger prompts because I’ve been so knackered when I get in from work that my brain turns to mush and I don’t even remember to check what the prompt is, let alone write a response. But today I’ve managed something. This week’s prompt from bostonbibliophile:

Today’s question is only marginally about LibraryThing but I thought it might be a fun question anyway. It’s more about blogging. Everyone who participates in Tuesday Thingers has a blog- some have a book blog, some have several, some have blogs that are more personal, etc.- and we’ve all chosen to participate in this particular way of networking to build traffic, get to know each other, etc. So my question is: what other weekly memes or round robins do you participate in? Is this the only one? Why Tuesday Thingers and not some other weekly Tuesday meme? Or do you do more than one?

This is the only weekly meme I participate in. I’m not that interested in memes in general, but this one grew organically out of an existing social group and conversation that I participate in, and as such tends to cover topics that I find to be an interesting prompt both for writing my own contribution and for reading what others have to say. It’s also something that seems to appeal to some of the non-LTER people who read my blog, which is hardly surprising given how many of them are also of the “You will have to pry my books from my cold dead hands” persuasion.

Of course, I started a new job not long after Tuesday Thingers started up, and promptly dropped out of much of my online activities (mostly through lack of energy when I got home rather than lack of time). So I skip Tuesday Thingers more often than not at the moment. But it does say something about how much I enjoy the meme that I will still wander around and read some of the other responses.

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Thingers

  1. Isn’t it amazing when real life interferes with the life we want to have? I work fulltime in a library and wish I had more time to spend with the books I love and the online reading I prefer – instead I spend time with other people’s books and online issues until I am too tired to do much more when I get home!

  2. Lol I like Tuesday Thingers because it’s made up of mostly LT people who understand the book buying/reading disease we have :)

Leave a Reply

