Tuesday Thingers

Today’s question from BostonBibliophile: Awards. Do you follow any particular book awards? Do you ever choose books based on awards? What award-winning books do you have? (Off the top of your head only- no need to look this up- it would take all day!) What’s your favorite award-winning book?

I tend to follow the Hugo Awards, voted on by the members of the World Science Fiction Convention each year. This is partly because a) I’m moderately active in sf fandom, and thus the awards show up on my radar without my even looking for them, b) one of my friends shows up in the nominations on a regular basis. :-)

I used to follow the Nebula Awards ( voted on by the US professional sf writers’ association), but that was back in the days before the internet, when they were both timely and the anthology was a good way of getting your hands on the best short sf of the year if you were living somewhere where the magazines were unheard of.

I own a number of award-winning books (and am rather pleased that one of mine was short-listed for something, though in a moderately obscure award). Off the top of my head, the one I’d plump for would be Terry Pratchett’s The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents, which won the Carnegie Medal. It’s a children’s book, but it’s a children’s book that can be enjoyed by all ages, and that does not spoonfeed its readers. It’s a fantastic piece of work, and one I recommend checking out if you’ve not read it.

Leave a Reply

