Hugo novels on special in the UK

As pointed out by Charlie Stross, his UK publisher has reduced the ebook of his Hugo-nominated novel to £1.99 for this month. I wandered off to check Orbit’s other two nominees in the Hugo novel category, and they too are reduced to £1.99. Or at least they are on Kobo and Amazon; Waterstones doesn’t seem to have got the message yet. Note that these prices are available in the UK only.

http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/neptune-s-brood-1
http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/ancillary-justice
http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/parasite-3

Neptune’s Brood
Ancillary Justice
Parasite (Parasitology)

Yes, I have bought all three. They are DRMed, but that is the price point at which I’m willing to treat a book as disposable. (As in, if I saw the print version in The Works I’d be willing to buy it with the intention of recycling to Oxfam after reading to make space.)

ETA: http://readingsff.wordpress.com/ notes in comments:

Actually, the price is down for all three to 2,99 € on amazon.de. That’s a good deal, too. So it might be a good idea for fellow Europeans to check out their respective amazon sites.

I’ve just checked amazon.co.au, as it normally falls under UK & Commonwealth rights, and thus would be in Orbit’s territory. Alas, no — still standard price. :-(

2 thoughts on “Hugo novels on special in the UK

  1. Thank you for this information, I missed it on Charlie’s blog.

    Actually, the price is down for all three to 2,99 € on amazon.de. That’s a good deal, too. So it might be a good idea for fellow Europeans to check out their respective amazon sites.

    1. Thanks, I’ve copied that to the main post. It’s not always possible to see what price Kindle books are on the other Amazons, so I hadn’t bothered to check. Can’t even see the price on my own books sometimes unless I log into my author account. :-/

Leave a Reply

