Tuesday Thingers

Today’s question: Series. Do you collect any series? Do you read series books? Fantasy? Mystery? Science fiction? Religious? Other genre? Do you use the series feature in LT to help you find new books or figure out what you might be missing from a series? — as ever, hosted by the wonderful Boston Bibliophile.

No, I didn’t forget this week, and I wasn’t too tired. I was too busy writing. Writing a guest blog post, admittedly, but at least I had the energy to write 1300 words of something. However, a day late, here is this week’s Tuesday Thinging.

Um, yeah, I read series. A large chunk of my LiveJournal friends list is the result of reading one particular series, namely Terry Pratchett’s Discworld. One of the things I did on the first day I had net access at home was subscribe to the Pratchett groups on Usenet. (Hi, guys.) I’ve read a lot of sf series over the years, though I don’t try to collect that many of them these days.

And I tend to read mystery series. One of my recent obsessions is the Dalziel and Pascoe series. I vaguely knew that it existed, but had never read any until I picked up Dialogues of the Dead from the local library’s “why not try this” shelf near the front desk while I was house-sitting for a friend for a few days — and was blown away. I’d picked up a couple of other books in the series at the same time. I read those, then went back to find any more the library might have. And after that I started buying them. I got my LibraryThing account a few months later, so that was the first series where I started using LT to keep track of which ones I’d read, and which ones I’d bought my own copies of. (I intend to get all of them, but some of the early ones weren’t in print in the US at the time, and I was accumulating them as they appeared in the local second-hand bookshop.)

What I like in a series is the ongoing development of the world and its people. I’m not really looking for the same book over and over, although those can be fun when done well. I’m looking for growth, in the writer and their world. And when I find a series that offers me that, I’ll stick with it for a long time.

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Thingers

Leave a comment